Sierra Nevada Local Section

American Chemical Society

ACS Sierra Nevada Section logo

The ACS Sierra Nevada Section encompasses Carson, Churchill, Douglas, Lyon, Mineral, Pershing, Storey, and Washoe counties in northwestern Nevada. Most section activities and meetings are held in the Reno/Sparks area.

Event Announcements

"Organic Chemistry without Reagents" - emeritus Prof. Larry Scott, Boston College and UNR

Location: Silver Peak Grill, 135 N. Sierra St., Reno, NV. See the event flyer: flyer. Thursday, May 3rd, 6 pm.

2018 Section Meetings & Events

Section Officers (2018)

The Sierra Nevada Distinguished Chemist Award

This award and lectureship is awarded biennially by the Sierra Nevada Section of the American Chemical Society to a scientist who has made major contributions to Chemistry. The award was first given in 1993.

1993: Professor Dudley R. Hershbach, Harvard University
1995: Professor Harry B. Gray, California Institute of Technology
1997: Professor W. Carl Lineberger, University of Colorado, Boulder
1999: Professor George M. Whitesides, Harvard University
2001: Professor Richard N. Zare, Stanford University
2003: Professor Graham Fleming, University of California, Berkeley
2005: Professor Jack Norton, Columbia University
2007: Professor Maurice Brookhart, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
2009: Professor Kenneth D. Karlin, Johns Hopkins University
2011: Professor Alan Balch, University of California, Davis
2013: Professor Melanie Sanford, University of Michigan
2014: Professor John F. Hartwig, University of California, Berkeley
2016: Professor Amos B. Smith III, University of Pennsylvania
2017: Professor Jamie Cate, University of California, Berkeley

Section Archives

Officers and programs from previous years.